LEADERSHIP and committees


The Steering Committee sets policy for the organization, establishes goals and identifies priorities. Steering also reviews and evaluates the results of committee action toward the accomplishment of Women’s Network’s goals and priorities. The following are the Steering Committee members for the July 1, 2019 – June 30, 2020 year:

2019-2020 Chair
Krista Kippenberger, Focus on Health Chiropractic

2019-2020 Chair Elect
Michele Curry, Commerce Bank

2019-2020 Past Chair
Tennille Lester, Landmark Bank

2019-2020 Treasurer
Lara Pieper, Bloom Bookkeeping LLC

2017-2020 Term
Kalynn Ramsey, Missouri Community College Association
Cara Owings, The Connection Exchange LLC
Kim Chinn, Shelter Insurance Companies – Main Office

2018-2021 Term
Patty Anderson, Veterans United Home Loans
Michele Curry, Commerce Bank
Laura Kogut, Providence Bank
Liz Townsend-Bird, University of Missouri
Teresa Snow, MU Health Care

2019-2022 Term
Dr. Janice Dawson-Threat, Grade A Plus Incorporated
Katie Fleming Cunningham, Emery Sapp & Sons
Nikki McGruder, Inclusive Impact Institute
Kelly Myers, Coyote Hill Christian Children’s Home 
Amanda Wooden, Wooden Hills Farm 


Committees are the workhorses of Women’s Network. Each committee meets once a month; meetings are open to all Women’s Network members to attend and are a great way to share your expertise in a specific area, gain experience in a new discipline, make new contacts with businesses across Columbia, and network with new and established members of Women’s Network. Each committee is lead by committee Co-Chairs, and at least one Steering Liaison. Co-Chairs serve staggered, two-year terms and are tasked with fulfilling the duties of each committee.

The Budget & Finance Committee oversees financial matters and develops an understanding of the use of finances and how Women’s Network may meet both long- and short-term goals.

Chaired by Women’s Network Treasurer, Lara Pieper, Bloom Bookkeeping LLC

This committee meets as needed.

Changing the Odds Committee assists women who are looking for ways to improve their job prospects, including women who have never held a job, may have left the job market for a period of time or have had recent changes in their career goals.

Corey Buckman, Therapy Unlimited, LLC
Tania Cook, Job Point

This committee meets on the fourth Thursday of each month at 8:30 a.m. at the Chamber.

Leadership Development Roundtable (LDR) provides an opportunity to network, exchange ideas and learn/discuss relevant topics, in a small monthly-program setting. The programs are free to attend and are open to both members and non-members of Women’s Network. Attendees may bring a brown bag lunch if desired.

Fran Muench, First Presbyterian Church
Danielle Burrow, SuretyBonds.com

The programs occur on the fourth Wednesday of each month at noon at the Chamber.

The Marketing & Communications Committee promotes Women’s Network and the Columbia Chamber of Commerce activities and events through media and professional contacts. The committee develops press releases, brochures, a monthly newsletter and responds to requests from various Women’s Network committees to publicize activities and arrange media opportunities.

Bethany Schoengarth, Columbia Marketing Group
Justina Dial, Central Bank of Boone County

This committee meets on the second Monday of every month at noon at the Chamber.

The Membership Development Committee strengthens existing relationships with current members, previous Women’s Network leadership, as well as all potential and new members. Committee activities include hosting New Member Welcomes events, greeting guests at monthly luncheons, reaching out to new members and coordinating the Experience Women’s Network (XWN) program, which is a membership recruiting/retention tool and platform for ongoing communication.

Amanda Tilford, Clear Vision Development Group 
Rebecca Young, Columbia Insurance Group

This committee meets the second Thursday of each month at noon at the Chamber.

The Mentoring Committee coordinates the pairing of individuals as Mentors/Mentees within the organization. This program offers a unique opportunity for individuals to build relationships and grow both personally and professionally.

Wendy Moore, StoryUP makers of Healium
Misty Phillips, Visionworks Marketing Group 

This committee meets as needed. Mentor/Mentee pairs are asked to meet once a month.

The Monthly Program Committee develops informative and dynamic monthly luncheon programs that meet the mission of Women’s Network, with an emphasis on business and leadership development, and provide valuable networking opportunities for our members and guests.

Sara Humm,
City of Columbia
Stephanie Smith, Columbia Mall

This committee meets on the second Wednesday of the month at noon at the Chamber.

The Special Events Committee is the event planning committee for Women’s Network. This committee is in charge of several large events throughout the year including; Women’s Network fall and spring mixers, the ATHENA International Awards Banquet, Roses for Mentors and the Women’s Network Holiday Party.

Sara Riegel, Columbia Mall
Audrey Sharp, Veterans United Home Loans

This committee meets on the first Wednesday of each month at noon at the Chamber.


Women’s Network Presidents and Chair’s have helped to further and grow the mission of Women’s Network to what it is today. Women’s Network is fortunate to have a legacy of strong female leaders, whom along with our volunteers and members, we attribute our success.
1980-1981 Toni Somers 1981-1982 Mellany Jones 1982-1983 Jan Grossmann 1983-1984 Vicki Dunscombe 1984-1985 Sue Ann Schaefer 1985-1986 Janice Schuerman 1987-1988 Chris Marks 1988-1989 Deb Snellen 1989-1990 Barb Scotten 1990-1991 Betty Schuster 1991-1992 Linda G. Arnold 1992-1993 Ellen S. Roper 1993-1994 Sabrina McDonnell 1994-1995 Dr. Muriel Battle 1995-1996 Karen Taylor 1996-1997 Susan Yesilada 1997-1998 Pat Hostetler 1998-1999 Mary C. Becker 1999-2000 Debbie Rawlings
2000-2001 Sharon Kinden 2001-2002 Kim Stonecipher-Fisher 2002-2003 Sue Rodgers 2003-2004 Robin Nichols 2004-2005 Barbie Weaver 2005-2006 Michelle Hill-Ishmael 2006-2007 Leigh Kottwitz 2007-2008 Anne Farrow 2008-2009 Sherry Waddill 2009-2010 Ranae Nicholes 2010-2011 Kelley Marchbanks 2011-2012 Jennifer Thoma 2012-2013 Kate Boatright 2013-2014 Heather Hargrove 2014-2015 Heather Stewart 2015-2016 Jessica Macy 2016-2017 Erica Pefferman 2017-2018 Michele Batye

Stay Up To Date With The Latest From Women’s Network