Women’s Network Steering Committee

The Steering Committee sets policy for the organization, establishes goals and identifies priorities. Steering also reviews and evaluates the results of committee action toward the accomplishment of Women’s Network’s goals and priorities. Steering meets on the first Thursday of each month at 11 a.m. Following are the members of the Steering Committee for the July 1, 2016 – June 30, 2017 year:

2016-2017 Chair
Erica Pefferman, The Business Times Company

2015-2016 Past Chair
Jessica Macy, New Chapter Coaching

2014-2017 Term
Michele Batye, Dave Griggs Flooring America (Chair-Elect)
Tennille Dorsey, Landmark Bank (Treasurer)
Cara Owings, MarketVolt
Sherry Major, Columbia EDP Center, Inc.

2015-2018 Term
Liz Townsend Bird, The Food Bank for Central & Northeast Missouri (Secretary)
Bailey Calton, CHSP, CTA, Caledon Virtual (Total Resource Campaign)
Jayme Dement, KRCG
Julie McDermott, Shelter Insurance Companies – Main Office
Michele Curry, Commerce Bank (Treasure-Elect)

2016-2019 Term
Ann Merrifield, Columbia College (Strategic Planning)
Janice Dawson-Threat, For His Glory, Inc.
Jennifer Schenck, The Connection Exchange LLC
Lindsey Boudinot, Stephens College
Jessie Kwatamdia, Alzheimer’s Association Greater Missouri Chapter

2017-2020 Term
Cara Owings, The Connection Exchange LLC
Jennifer Truesdale, Heart of Missouri United Way
Krista Kippenberger, Focus on Health Chiropractic


WOMEN’S NETWORK Committee chairs

The Committee Chairs lead the committees of Women’s Network. Co-Chairs serve staggered, two-year terms and are tasked with fulfilling the duties of each committee. All the Co-Chairs meet on the first Thursday of each month at 12 p.m.. Following are the Committee Co-Chairs for the July 1, 2015 – June 30, 2016 year:

Click here to read a list of all current committee Co-Chairs (printable):


Chaired by Tennille Dorsey, Landmark Bank and Michele Curry, Commerce Bank, this committee oversees financial matters and develops an understanding of the use of finances and how Women’s Network may meet both long- and short-term goals.

This committee meets as needed.


Co-Chaired by  Valerie Zumwalt, CoMO Leaders and Terra Crane , Convention and Visitors Bureau, this committee provides an opportunity to exchange ideas, discuss problems and solutions related to management. The meetings are free to attend, but you may bring a brown bag if desired.

This committee meets on the fourth Wednesday of each month at noon at the Chamber.


Co-chaired by  Jennifer Truesdale, Heart of Missouri United Way and Liana Twente, Columbia Mall, the Women’s Network Changing the Odds Committee assists women who are looking for ways to improve their job prospects, including women who have never held a job, may have left the job market for a period of time or have had recent changes in their career goals.

This committee meets on the fourth Thursday of each month at 8:30 a.m. at the Chamber.


Co-chaired by Laura Kogut, Landmark Bank, and Andrea Paul, GFI Digital, the Marketing &Communications committee promotes Women’s Network and Columbia Chamber of Commerce activities and events through media and professional contacts. The committee develops press releases, brochures, and responds to requests from various Women’s Network committees to publicize activities and arrange media opportunities.

This committee meets on the second Tuesday of every month at noon.


Co-chaired by Kalynn Ramsey, Alternative Community Training,, and Krista Kippenberger, Focus on Health Chiropractic, the Women’s Network Membership Development Committee strengthens existing relationships with current members, previous Women’s Network leadership, and potential new members. All committee activities, including hosting New Member Welcomes and greeting monthly luncheon attendees, support Experience Women’s Network (XWN), which is a membership recruiting/retention tool and platform for ongoing communication.

This committee meets the second Thursday of each month at noon.


Co-Chaired by Kim Chinn, Shelter Insurance, and Jackie Carney, University of Missouri. The Women’s Network Monthly Program Committee develops informative and dynamic monthly programs that meet the mission of Women’s Network with an emphasis on business and leadership development and provide valuable networking opportunities for our members and guests.

This committee meets on the second Wednesday of the month at noon.


Co-chaired by Patty Anderson, Columbia College, and Laura Roeder, The Village of Bedford Walk, the Women’s Network Special Events Committee is the “FUN” Committee. Are you creative? Do you like to plan events? Do you like networking and meeting new people? We do all of these things! This committee plans several large events throughout the year including the ATHENA International Awards Banquet in April, a spring, summer and fall mixer, as well as the annual Holiday Party in December.

This committee meets on the first Wednesday of each month at noon.


Chaired by Kim Harrison, Direct Impaqt, the Women’s Network Mentoring Committee is a new committee for the 2016-2017 year.