We are now accepting applications for the Debin Benish Outstanding Businesswoman Award! 

Debin Benish started Delta Systems Group at a time when women were not encouraged to venture out on their own, not to mention in a technology field. During her 18 years in business, Debin and her staff trained thousands of people in Mid- Missouri on many different software programs and provided computer network support to hundreds of companies.In addition to achieving great success in her company, Debin was actively involved in the Chamber and Women’s Network. She served on the Chamber Board of Directors, Accreditation Task Force, Business Conference and Showcase Committee, Government Affairs, Education, Leadership Columbia, Women’s Network Business Owners Committee, and Ambassadors.

Debin had a philanthropic heart. She and the Delta Systems staff quietly assisted many charities and non-profits with their technology needs, such as the Food Bank for Central and Northeast Missouri, as she served on countless technology committees and boards. Among the most noteworthy accomplishments are the revolutionizing of the registration process for the biannual MU blood drives by creating the system that is still used to this day to assist in minimizing donor wait times. For all these reasons and her corporate mantra of providing excellent customer service and caring for projects, the Chamber honored Debin and Delta Systems as the 1992 Small Business of the Year and again in 2005 as a Small Business of the Year Finalist.

To honor Debin’s memory of volunteering and supporting small businesses, the Women’s Network, in conjunction with Delta Systems Group, would like to select a businesswoman who has achieved great success in her business to receive the annual Debin Benish Outstanding Businesswoman Award. If you know a Columbia businesswoman who:

  • exhibits leadership in supporting small business
  • has a record of volunteering in the community
  • is a mentor to other business women
  • owns (or is employed by) a Chamber-member business, preferably a Women’s Network member

Click here to download the Debin Benish 2018 nomination form!

Deadline to submit is May 18, 2018.


Past recipients of the Debin Benish Outstanding Businesswoman Award include:
2005: Lili Vianello, Visionworks Marketing & Communications
2006: Lynda Baumgartner, Image Technologies of Missouri
2007: Melody Parry, Outfront Communications
2008: Kim Trabue, Peckham & Wright Architects, Inc.
2009: Rose Ditter, KeLani Salon & Spa
2010: Karen Miller, Boone County Commission
2011: Michele Spry, Midway Electric, Inc.
2012: Anne Williams, JobFinders
2013: Mary Ropp, The Bank of Missouri
2014: Susan Hart, Huebert Builders, Inc.
2015: Nancy Fay, Mary Kay Cosmetics
2016: Nancy Allison, Shelter Insurance-Nancy Allison, Agent
2017: Erica Pefferman, Business Times Company